Eclectic Closet Litblog, Book Reviews & Knitting Designs

A litblog dedicated to book reviews/recommendations, as well as literary and publishing news. Now enhanced with knitting designs.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize Longlist


The Giller Prize is dedicated to celebrating the best in Canadian fiction each year, and to enhancing marketing efforts in bringing these books to the attention of all Canadians. The award recognized excellence in Canadian fiction – long format or short stories – and endowed a cash prize annually of $25,000.00, the largest purse for literature in the country.

The 2006 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist was announced on Monday, September 11:

* The Friends of Meager Fortune by David Adams Richards (Doubleday Canada)
* Pleased to Meet You by Caroline Adderson (Thomas Allen Publishers)
* The Garneau Block by Todd Babiak (McClelland & Stewart)
* Governor of the Northern Province by Randy Boyagoda (Penguin Canada)
* jPod by Douglas Coupland (Random House Canada)
* The Famished Lover by Alan Cumyn (Goose Lane Editions)
* DeNiro’s Game by Rawi Hage (House of Anansi Press)
* Inside by Kenneth J Harvey (Random House Canada)
* The Custodian of Paradise by Wayne Johnston (Knopf Canada)
* Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam (Doubleday Canada)
* Stolen by Annette Lapointe (Anvil Press)
* The Perfect Circle by Pascale Quiviger (Cormorant Books)
* The Immaculate Conception by Gaétan Soucy (House of Anansi Press)
* The Hour of Bad Decisions by Russell Wangersky (Coteau Books)
* Home Schooling by Carol Windley (Cormorant Books)

The shortlist for this year’s Scotiabank Giller Prize will be announced at a news conference on Tuesday, October 3 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Toronto. The finalists will be honoured and a winner announced at a gala black tie dinner and awards ceremony to be held on November 7th.

The launch of The Giller Prize twelve years ago coincided with a growing recognition of Canadian authors and literature both at home and abroad. With such acclaimed writers as Alice Munro, Margaret Atwood, Michael Ondaatje and Mordecai Richler winning honours and accolades around the world, the popularity of Canadian literature has continued to flourish.


posted under Literary Awards

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Email Preference *
Email Format

Visit my Ravelry Shop

My Knitting Patterns

Audrey II

Angular Path Scarf

Cartouche Stole

Fossetta Cowl

Fossetta Hat

Sargaço Shawl

Whitman Hat

Every Which Way Cowl

Every Which Way Hat

Every Which Way Fingerless Mitts

Gothic Forest Scarf

Valencia Scarf

Branching Path Cowl

Flower Bell Stole

Whitman Cowl

New Tech Cowl

Vieux Carré Stole

Stacks Socks

Anna Perenna Shawlette

Taming of the Fox

Don't Ask Y

Cantilevering Leaves

Amplification Stole

Combs Cowl

Mindfulness Cowl

Tipsy Scarf

Gridwork Scarf
Ravelry Free Download